My First Pregnancy: Week 24

Hello everyone! It is a beautiful day in Nashville today and I’m getting ready to head out to the pool for some sun & relaxation. I love summer! My preggo belly likes it, too. 🙂 But first, time for week 24’s update.

She is continuing to grow and was the size of a large zucchini this week. She’s about 1.5 pounds and about 12 inches long…and she is making her presence known. I feel her wiggling hourly at the least. She’s even had hiccups a few times which makes me smile every time.

IMG_1708

Now that I am feeling her move a lot more, it’s made my pregnancy become even more real to me and has even made me feel closer to her. I talk to her once in awhile now that she can hear my voice. My nanny kiddos love to push their faces against my belly and tell her they love her. It’s pretty cute. 🙂

At the end of week 24 I experienced my first real bout of heartburn. I’ve never had heartburn in my life so I wasn’t really sure what it was. I had an idea, but I literally looked up “what does heartburn feel like?” so I could figure it out. Sure enough, the description was spot on. So Nate bought me some Tums on his way home from work. I’ve been trying to eat smaller portions spread throughout the day instead of eating big meals since eating a lot at once can enhance heartburn.

Other than the brief heartburn spell, this week was great! I continued week 3 of the 21 Day Fix workouts, did my best to stick to healthy eating, though I did make some cupcakes this week and have had one or two a day for the last few days. I am obsessed with desserts right now and feel like I need something sweet to close out every meal I have. So this week I am working on having fruit for dessert instead of ice cream, cupcakes, or chocolate. But it’s haaaaard! For me, anyway. 😉

Our birth class starts in one week and I’m getting really excited to attend. I’m eager to learn and our instructor Jeannie seems to be one of the best we could have picked. She’s taught the class over 200 times and is a trained doula so she’s seen plenty of birth, as well as experienced it herself.

Also, Nate and I are looking for good books regarding taking care of newborns so if any of you have an recommendations, please let us know! See you again soon!

::Katie

Leave a Reply

