My First Pregnancy: Week 22

Hey everyone!

Week 22 is in the books. I can really relate to what I’ve heard people say about the second trimester being the “honeymoon phase” of pregnancy. I’m loving this part and have very little to complain about–really nothing to complain about when I think about it. I know I’m lucky and so I feel very grateful that my life has been minimally impacted by creating another life!

The only discomfort I felt this week is the continuing round ligament pain from my growing uterus. It really only shows up when I’m walking for an extended period of time. My nanny kiddos and I took a nature walk last week and I was struggling at times. I eagerly welcomed their suggestions to take a break on the benches we were passing! 🙂

I still have my usual amount of energy so I’m continuing to work out almost every day. At the end of week 22 I started doing the “21 Day Fix” workouts from the Beachbody line of training videos. I’m three days in and have enjoyed it so far. I follow the modifier in the videos a LOT since the regular level would definitely put me in the unsafe zone regarding heart rate, but I still sweat and I can tell I’m building my muscles up. I want to be as strong as possible when it comes time to birth this baby!

IMG_1468

Along with doing the “21 Day Fix” workouts, I have made it a goal to try to eat as healthfully as possible so I can get my weight gain back on track. I know it will vary at different times in pregnancy, but I just don’t want it to get out of control. I know what some of you worriers may be thinking, but don’t fret! I am not starving myself! I’m just trying to be smarter about the foods I am consuming. Rather than going for unhealthy convenience foods, I am simply trying to plan my meals and snacks a bit better.

The highlight of this week was feeling LOTS of strong baby kicks and punches. When she’s really going for it, it’s very easy to feel her on the outside of my belly. Nate got to feel her over the weekend and it was so sweet! He had felt a faint kick back in week 18, but these kicks were unquestionable. I’ve tried to pick up on patterns in her movement but haven’t really found any quite yet.

According to my pregnancy app, the baby is a little over a pound now and is about 11.5 inches long, roughly the size of an ear of corn. Crazy! See you next week!

::Katie

 

 

Leave a Reply

