My First Pregnancy: Week 17

Hey everyone!

Week 17 was definitely a week for growth. The baby was the size of an onion last week (5 oz.) and was about 5 inches long. I was really hungry last week and was craving Cheez-Its (once again). I gave in and ate 3/4 of the box over the next few days. Nate ate the rest, thank God. 🙂

After I posted my week 16 update, my back slowly started to ache and eventually got to a point that made it very uncomfortable to sit on the couch or walk. If I was sitting on a couch, I needed to be straight up, supported by one or two pillows. Lying down helped but I had to be on my right side. Sleep was (fortunately) not disturbed by the pain.

IMG_1149

I continued to exercise and added some extra yoga for the back into my week. The yoga I did provided some temporary relief but the pain eventually came back. It subsided over the weekend and at week 17’s close, I feel like my belly has definitely grown and is starting to harden. I’ve never had abs, so a hard stomach feels weird to me. 🙂

Other than back pain for a few days, week 17 was good. Oh, aside from my biggest pregnancy brain fail of the century…

I threw away my wedding ring and found it in the dumpster of our apartment 3 days later. On Friday, Nate came home with a beauuuutiful bouquet of flowers for me for Mother’s Day and I took my ring off to cut the stems and put them in a vase. (Side note: how sweet is my hubby?!) When I was heading to bed that night I realized I’d never put my ring back on and couldn’t remember when I’d set it down or where. We figured we’d find it in the morning.

IMG_1169

Saturday and Sunday came and went and both days were full of searching high and low for my wedding ring. I even had my uber-sweet nanny family looking at their house just in case I’d left it there. Monday morning, I checked at my nanny family’s house as well and Nathan checked his office where I’d also been on Friday. No luck. I had a good cry at this point. I was so baffled that no one could find my ring and angry that I could have been so incredibly irresponsible with such a significant and sentimental item. Surely I would have left it somewhere easy to find! But no luck.

Then while I was working out Monday morning, I had this strong feeling that I needed to go out to the dumpster and check the trash Nate took out on Saturday morning. I knew the dumpster would be emptied any minute so I stopped my workout video and ran outside. Luckily, our trash was easy to identify and was right at the edge of the dumpster door. I carefully lifted the bag out and started searching. It didn’t take long for me to find my ring neatly wrapped inside the bouquet paper with all the stems I’d cut! I wanted to scream for joy! Instead I called Nate with the good news. He was so happy and so was I. He’d been so calm about the whole thing and I was very grateful to him for his laid-back attitude.

One hour later the garbage truck came and took away the trash. Thank you, Lord, for that unshakable thought to go dumpster diving! 🙂

See you next week with an update on how Week 18 is shaping up.

::Katie

3 thoughts on “My First Pregnancy: Week 17

Leave a Reply

