Nashville to Asheville

Hello all!

I’m just checking in to say “Happy December!”

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving weekend last week. We opted to take a mini-vacation in Asheville, NC instead of traveling to see family. Nate and I try to make a “just us” getaway at least once a year if possible. This year it worked out that we saw Nate’s family in August and we will see mine in December, so that left Thanksgiving as a vacation opportunity.

IMG_0100

We headed out on Thanksgiving Day and traffic was beautifully clear. We stayed at a lady’s apartment that she advertised on Airbnb, which was perfect for our little stay. It even came with a cat! 😉

IMG_0096

On Friday we took the day to be out on the town. We had some delicious burritos at Mamacita’s Taqueria.

IMG_0101

We walked around the city and found some pretty interesting characters. This folksy duo was pretty awesome and was making a ton of tips!

IMG_0103

We stumbled across this amazing display of desserts, but refrained from buying any…now I’m kicking myself. 🙂

IMG_0105

Next it was onto the Moog Music Store & Factory to tour and test out #allthesynthesizers. Nate was in synthesizer heaven! The tour was free and it you are into electronic music at all, it was totally fun. I’m don’t know anything about analog synths, but I still had a great time learning about Bob Moog & his music-changing inventions.

IMG_0107

That night it was Thai & sushi for dinner then we headed out to see a movie (Mockingjay, Part 2….great ending to The Hunger Games saga!). Saturday we stayed at our apartment because I had a head cold (boo). But that night I was feeling well enough that we got to have some lattes and fancy food at a cool little shop called Filo Pastries. It was delicious!

IMG_0114

That night I got to watch Rocky for the first time ever. I must say, it was pretty good. And I think I have a newfound respect for Sylvester Stallone. I had no idea he wrote & directed Rocky and I didn’t know that it won the Academy Award for Best Picture that year. It’s a great story. Since that night we’ve been working our way through the Rocky movies. Number 4 happened last night. Heartbreaker!

Aside from getting sick, our trip was great. We got to experience a little bit of the city, but I’d love to go back and see more.

Now we are only 3.5 weeks away from Christmas! I’ve got some shopping to finish up. How about you?

See you back here next week!

Leave a Reply

