Homemade Chili

Autumn is one of our favorite times of year in the Hood House and one of my favorite autumn-like dishes to make is chili! It’s so easy, so delicious, and makes great leftover meals for the rest of the week.

IMG_4592

We had a group of friends over for football and chili last night which made me want to share a delicious and easy recipe with you all! I found this recipe in Rachael Ray’s magazine a few years ago and it has become my go-to chili recipe.

You will need:
– 1.5 pounds ground beef
– 1 onion, chopped
– 1.5 T garlic
– pinch chili powder
– 1/2 T cumin
– 1/2 T oregano
– salt & pepper to taste
– 1/2 t. cayenne (optional)
– 14 oz can crushed tomatoes
– 8 oz can tomato sauce
– 1 can red kidney beans

Side note: You can add veggies into this recipe if you like. Also, I use only one pot to make this chili which makes even easier cleanup. In my mind, there is no reason to use a skillet in addition to your stock pot. I am also not an expert, so…maybe there is a reason I am unaware of. 🙂

Start by browning your ground beef and add the onions into the mix. I also throw in my seasonings at this time to allow them to mingle with the meat flavor. Once the beef is cooked through, add in the tomato sauce and crushed tomatoes. Give everything a good stir and then add in the beans. Stir again. Let the chili simmer on the stove for 10-15 minutes, stirring frequently. Once it is heated through, it’s ready to serve!

We like to top our chili with sour cream [greek yogurt for me…a healthier alternative] and cheese and dip tortilla chips in it. It’s basically a bean dip at that point, but it is the best!

What other chili ideas are out there? Does your family have a secret ingredient? Share your ideas in the comments below! Have a wonderful week!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chili

  1. Quinoa is a great meat alternative in chili! It gives it that thickening texture and is yummy! Also, I use a hidden valley ranch packet and every can of beans in my chili for super easiness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

