Painted Mason Jars

I usually arrive pretty late to bandwagons, and the mason jar bandwagon has been no exception.

On my Goodwill shopping spree a few weeks back, I picked up 2 mason jars that I wasn’t quite sure how I’d use. After a bit of creative brainstorming, I found some tutorials on glass painting and decided I’d give it a whirl. I decided I’d use the jars as holders for little things in our bathroom on the counter.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/99c/72261131/files/2015/01/img_2528.jpg

I used Martha Stewart’s line of chalkboard paint to paint the glass. Our bathroom colors are brown & red so that’s what I went with for paint colors. 🙂 I painted one coat on the jars and let them dry for an hour before coating them again. Nate and I shared a game of Scrabble between coats.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/99c/72261131/files/2015/01/img_2533.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/99c/72261131/files/2015/01/img_2531.jpg

I let the jars sit overnight. The next night I took out our industrial strength file and did some aging of the paint. It turned out quite well for the first time around.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/99c/72261131/files/2015/01/img_2538.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/99c/72261131/files/2015/01/img_2539.jpg

Now we have some pretty new holders in our bathroom. It was a fun and inexpensive little project that anyone can do! I think I spent somewhere around $4 for the whole project. Done & done!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/99c/72261131/files/2015/01/img_2541.jpg

3 thoughts on “Painted Mason Jars

Leave a Reply

