4 Healthy Meals for $4

News flash, friends: healthy eating does not have to be expensive! I was getting a bit bored of my standard lunches for work and needed a change. This week I mixed up my routine a bit and bought about a pound of SALMON (yum!) to bake up and take to work. Salmon is an incredibly healthy source of fats and protein, so that makes it even better! I was able to get 4 healthy meals prepped on Monday night for about $4 per serving.

We are heading into the holidays where we indulge in food & relaxation so I’m doing my best to keep my healthy eating up to par. It’s especially challenging to stay fit & healthy when you’re surrounded by Christmas goodies at work. We get a big thing of honey roasted peanuts and Christie Cookies sent to our office every Christmas. Ahh, keep the temptation away!!

Anyway, I topped the slabs of fish with a mango/sea salt seasoning, a bit of garlic powder, black pepper, and two scoops of coconut oil (about a teaspoon on each one) as a substitute for butter.

IMG_2371

While the salmon was baking in the oven, I chopped veggies and lettuce to prep four small side salads. I usually have a bit more oomph to my salads, but I was shorthanded on veggies this week. 🙂 The salmon baked up gorgeously and I divided it into four portions that are easy to grab in the morning before work.

IMG_2373
At Thanksgiving last week, my uncle introduced me to this amazing yogurt ranch dressing. There are only 45 calories per two tablespoons! And it tastes so good. I love the taste of ranch dressing so I’m glad to have found a version I don’t need to feel guilty about!

IMG_2372

 

 

 

 

 

Salmon: $2.40/serving
Lettuce: $.90/serving
Carrots: $.40/serving
Dressing: $.25/serving
TOTAL: $3.95/SERVING

So there you have it! Four healthy meals for about $4 per serving. It’s better than eating out every day, and you’re getting some great nutrients into your diet.

What are some healthy, cost-effective recipes you enjoy for on-the-go lunches?

One thought on “4 Healthy Meals for $4

Leave a Reply

